IRRMA Hall of Fame Inductees

Back to Hall of Fame main page.

Dale Thomas & The Bandera Boys

Hometown:West Branch Ia
Members:Dale Thomas, Larry Fountain, Don Thomas, Keith Reed, Bob Langhurst, and Al Huntzinger

The next inductee into the Iowa Rock & Roll Music Association's Rock Hall of Fame is one of Eastern lowa's originators of rock and roll, Mr. Dale Thomas of West Branch, Iowa. Dale got an early start in the music business, when he joined his first band in 1950. In 1954, Dale formed his own group, Dale Thomas & The Bandera Boys, and quickly established themselves as one of the top draws in a four state area in the energizing rock music scene.

His 1957 recording of "Crocodile Hop/Don't Wait" (Sky 12837) helped establish him and the Bandera Boys as one of the premier rock attractions in the midwest.
Later in 1963, he would go national fame on Dot Records with his release of "Hello Lonesome/Too Young To Love". (Dot 16343)

While personnel would change the main components of the Bandera Boys besides Thomas included: Drums- Al Huntsinger & Jerry Hauser, Bass- Don Thomas, Keith Reed, & Jim Hemingway, Piano/Keys- Don Thomas, Keith Reed and Cecil Chapman, & Sax-Larry Fountain, Jerry Kracht, Chub Yakish, and Ernie Dvorak.

From 1956 to 1964, Dale Thomas & The Bandera Boys were top rock draws on the scene. In 1964, the Bandera Boys broke up and Dale went the way of country music, where he has had a very successful career.

Dale's played with the likes of, Hank Snow, Roger Miller, Jim Reeves, Patsy Cline, Hank Thompson, Dotty West, Bobby Bare, Johnny Cash, The Everly Brothers, and many many more.

The IRRMA is please to introduce and induct, 1999 nominee, Dale Thomas and The Bandera Boys

Inductee Photo Inductee Photo