Two-Day Celebration of Iowa Music September 1st & 2nd

August 17, 2018


The Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association has been recognizing those who have made a significant impact on Iowa’s rock ‘n roll music scene with induction into the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame since 1997. 2018 Inductees include: David Ellefson (Individual Artist), The Nadas (Band), Marilyn Maye (Lifetime Achievement), The Bushmen (Band), Rob Lumbard (Individual Artist), Buckeye (Band), Pam Dixon (DJ), IV Pauli (Band), Cabala (Band), Gary Richards (Individual Artist), George Rondinelli (Support People), Crusin’ (Band), Rick Hillyard (Individual Artist), A Stitch ‘N Tyme (Band), Torkays (Band), Lavendar Hill (Band), Dennis “Daddy-O” McMurrin (Lifetime Achievement), Johnny Green (Individual Artist), Festival (Band), The Trippers (Band), El Riadas (Band), Dean Davis (Matousek Lifetime Achievement), Rich Mock (Individual Artist), Julie Christensen (Women Who Rock), Duane “Nudie” Binder (Individual Artist), Ralph Goldheim (Individual Artist), Dickinson County News (Media Representative), Jim Musser (Media Representative), Lorados (Venue), and Dave Hogendorn (Lifetime Achievement). Lance Harrison is also being recognized for his contributions to Iowa’s music industry with a 2018 Spirit Award.


Induction into the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame has grown into a two-day celebration of Iowa music. Happening annually on Labor Day weekend in and around Arnolds Park, IA, 2018 events are sponsored by Estes Construction and KUOO Radio and start September 1st with a Pancake Breakfast from 8-11 am; an Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Festival with kid’s activities, food, and vendors from 9-11 am; an Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Parade at 10 am; Music Workshops led by 2018 Inductees Duane “Nudie” Binder, Mike Butterworth, Jason Walsmith, Gary Richards, and David Ellefson at 11 am; Iowa Rocks Talent Finals youth music competition with finalists Triple Shot, Kamree Farmer, Ian Miller, The Spacemen, Caleb Good, Awakening Force, Not Yet, Odd & Fanatic, Emma Arndt, Been There Done That, Gage Wiggins, Ledd Peppers, Mutually Assured Destruction (M.A.D.), and Eli Dykstra Rocks at 1 pm; a Hot Rod & Classic Car Show at 1pm, a Lifetime Members Dinner with 2018 Inductees at 5:30 pm, and a Meet & Greet program for the public at 7 pm.


On September 2nd, the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony starts at 2 pm; an Autography Party starts at 4:30 pm; and the 2018 Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Concert runs 6 pm – 12 am. All events are free aside from the Pancake Breakfast, Induction Ceremony, and Induction Concert. Tickets for both the concert and ceremony range from $35-45 and are available online at


Established in 1997 as the first state rock ‘n roll music association, the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association is a statewide 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to preserve the legacy of rock ‘n roll music in Iowa by honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists. For more information, go to



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon

Honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.