Too Much Talent at Iowa Rocks Talent

Is there such a thing as too much talent? Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association doesn’t think so. Iowa Rocks Talent, the nonprofit’s statewide youth music competition originally called Battle of the Bands, had eight bands and six individuals make it to finals on Labor Day weekend. With so much talent, two bands - Been There Done That from the Quad Cities and Awakening Force from Des Moines - were crowned the winners of the Group category and Eli Dykstra from Boyden was crowned the winner of the Individual category.

Thanks to the lead sponsor Catamount Recording, all three winners will receive recording time at their state-of-the-art professional recording studio located in Cedar Falls, IA. The winners were also recognized at the 2018 Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and performed at the 2018 Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame Induction Concert on Labor Day weekend at the historic Roof Garden Ballroom in Arnolds Park, IA.

“Thanks to Arnolds Park Amusement Park, Lakes News Shopper, Walmart, Pearson Lakes Art Center, Dickinson County News, Michael Thoreson Farm Bureau, Drake University, Surf Ballroon, Jean Walachy Music Legacy, and Grand Opera House we were able to expand Iowa Rocks Talent this year to have events in Dubuque, Spirit Lake, Des Moines, and Clear Lake.” said Executive Director, Cindy Stanbro. “It was fun to be able to see each region’s representation. Congratulations to all who participated – it was an amazing experience. Time to plan for 2019!”

Established in 1997 as the first state rock ‘n roll music association, the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association is a statewide 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to preserve the legacy of rock ‘n roll music in Iowa by honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists. For more information, go to

Recent Posts

See All

IRRMA Thanks Executive Director Cindy Stanbro

The Board of Directors of the Iowa Rock 'n Roll Music Association (IRRMA) has reluctantly accepted the resignation of Executive Director Cindy Stanbro, Board President Ralph Kluseman announced today.

Honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram