Walmart Steps Up Again to Support “Iowa Rocks Talent”

Walmart has stepped up again this year to support “Iowa Rocks Talent” youth music competition. The 21 and under statewide series provides professional development of young musicians while encouraging participation in music outside of school. Regional events take place in Okoboji (March 21), Mason City (April 27), Shenandoah (May 4), Des Moines (June 1), and Dubuque (virtually in April). Finals are August 31 at the Roof Garden Ballroom in Arnolds Park.

Catamount Recording, a longtime sponsor of the event series, provides recording time to the winners of “Iowa Rocks Talent Finals”. Those winners also get the honor of opening for the 2019 Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association’s Hall of Fame Concert September 1.

“Walmart supported our event in Okoboji last year. We are so pleased they are graciously increasing their support this year to both Okoboji and Dubuque to allow more youth to express themselves wherever they live,” says Cindy Stanbro, Executive Director of the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association. “The educational series is open to any individual vocalist, individual instrumentalist, vocal group, instrumental group, and band 21 and under.”

Other sponsors for the series include Wabash Entertainment, Drake University, Pearson Lakes Art Center, The Main Event, John Walachy Music Legacy, Midwest Piano & Music, Dickinson County News, and Lakes News Shopper. Musicians need to register for the event they would like to participate in. More information is at

Established in 1997 as the first state rock ‘n roll music association, the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association is a statewide 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to preserve the legacy of rock ‘n roll music in Iowa by honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.

Recent Posts

See All

IRRMA Thanks Executive Director Cindy Stanbro

The Board of Directors of the Iowa Rock 'n Roll Music Association (IRRMA) has reluctantly accepted the resignation of Executive Director Cindy Stanbro, Board President Ralph Kluseman announced today.

Honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram