The Pages

1999 - Band

Members: Ken Barry, Jim Hines, Paul Bezilla, Bill "Saki" Megonigle, Jon James, Mike Rouse, Jim Enke, and Denny Carlson


1964 was the year The Pages from Oelwein, Iowa started their rock and roll journey. The original lineup included Ken Barry on drums, Jim Hines on guitar, Paul Bezilia on bass, and Rich Michael on keyboards. They got their start by working with KOEL's DJ Jack Mihall at the famed Lakeside Ballroom.


By 1968, they were top draws across Eastern Iowa, and parts of Wisconsin and Illinois. Their key markets were any of Iowa's famed ballrooms - from Matter's in Decorah,  The Lakeside in Guttenberg, The Hi-Way Gardens in Stanwood, and The Dance-Mor in Swisher - they set attendance records wherever they played.


In 1968, Berry was replaced on drums by Bill "Saki" Megonigle. In 1970, they added a tight horn section in the form of Jon James on sax and trumpet, Mike Rouse on trumpet, and Jim Enke on trombone.


By 1971, Megonigle left the group and was replaced on drums by Denny Carlson. In 1972 new horn players were added who included Al Naylor on trumpet and Loren Fagen on trombone.


During their career, they played with the likes of the New Colony Six, Paul Revere & The Raiders, Climax, and Tony Orlando & Dawn. In 1968, they released their solo recorded effort, "High School/Sugar On The Road" (UA Records 54300).


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon

Honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.