new logo.png

Become a member today and help support Iowa artists!

Honoring those who have significantly impacted Iowa rock 'n roll. Click the image to learn more about the 2019 Induction.

Museum Interior.jpg

The new Iowa Rock 'n Roll Music Association Hall of Fame & Museum is open!

Our New Executive Director


February 3, 2020




Iowa Rock 'n Roll Music Association Announces Clay Norris

as Executive Director

Strong local ties to the Great Lakes Area cited


(Arnolds Park) -The Iowa Rock 'n Roll Music Association announced today that Clay Norris has accepted the position as Executive Director of the association effective as of January 29, 2020.


According to Ralph Kluseman, President of the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association, “Clay brings considerable business skills and long-standing relationships with many people and organizations in the Great Lakes area to his new position. His strengths will benefit the mission of our association as we continue to build on the legacy of John Senn, the co-founder of the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association, who passed away in 2019.”


Clay, upon accepting the job as Executive Director states, “The board has articulated a mission to honor the past, while inspiring the future. I am so grateful to have the board’s trust to continue honoring the past legacy of Rock and Roll in the fine state of Iowa, while helping the association to move this legacy forward to the present and into the future!”


Clay previously was the Senior Global Product Manager for the Pure Fishing Company and also the National Director of Sales and Marketing for Cortland Line Company. He is a regular volunteer for the Spirit Lake High School Music Boosters and lives in Spirit Lake, Iowa with his wife and children.

Hall of Fame.jpg

Retaining Iowa's musical legacy by honoring those making significant contributions to Iowa's rock music scene.

2020 Inductees  Announced

The Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association is pleased to announce the 2020 Inductees for the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Hall of Fame, who will be inducted during the Induction Spectacular Weekend held September 5-6 in the beautiful Iowa Great Lakes. 

The 2020 Inductees into the Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association Hall of Fame include:  Epicureans (Border Band), Genocide (Band), Shade of Blue (Band), Elm Street Grocery (Band), Kid Biskit (Band), The Pilgrims (Out of State Band), Lefty and the Spinners (Band), Dutch Uncle (Band), Janice Hill (Women Who Rock), Laura Benedict (Women Who Rock), Musicians Pro Shop (Music Store), Doug Roberson (Promoter), Bill Hillman (Promotor), Phil Christy (Individual Artist), Alan Morphew (Individual Artist), Bill Pelchat (Individual Artist), Kirk “Skinny” Webb (Individual Artist), John Rogers (Individual Artist), Bruce Kim (Individual Artist), Tommy Lee (Individual Artist), Dennis Richie Deluna (Individual Artist), Melvin James (Individual Artist), Jono Smith (Individual Artist), John Piper (Individual Artist), KRIB in Mason City (Radio Station), Trent Litton (Support Person), Charlie Haden (Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association Lifetime Achievement Award), Rick Eames (Matousek Family Lifetime Achievement Award), Denny Anderson (DJ), The Surf Ballroom Board of Directors (Spirit Award), and Connie Valens (Spirit Award).

The Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association annually inducts musicians, bands, DJs, ballrooms and others who have significantly contributed to rock and roll music in the State of Iowa.  Since incorporation, more than 300 entities have had the honor of being inducted. Inductees must have a minimum of 25 years of experience in the music industry.

Click here to see inductees by region.

Click here for a PDF of this Press Release

Contact: Maddie Tesch, Museum Administrator, 712-330-0889


The Iowa Rock ‘n Roll Music Association exists to preserve the legacy of rock ‘n roll music in Iowa by honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists. Established in 1997, it is a 501(c)(3) non- profit statewide organization with many areas of service including: Hall of Fame recognition, Rock ‘n Roll Museum, live music and other community events, the Iowa Rocks Talent competition for young performers, and educational outreach. 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Flickr Social Icon

Honoring achievements, educating youth, and inspiring artists.

Hall of Fame Ballroom Display